Saturday Shopping Trip

January 16, 2011 at 3:17 am 2 comments

This weather is downright depressing right! I HAD to get out of the house today even if it meant fighting the disgusting drizzle. Thank goodness I already had a shopping trip planned to Spice Village and Amelia’s Fashion Exchange!

There’s no way I could tell you about all the shops in Spice Village, but I can tell you about the little treasure that happened to be the focus of my trip today……Yarnivore! Yarnivore sells yarn and knitting/crochet supplies. I knit so this is exciting for me. Now don’t get me wrong, I love Hobby Lobby and Michael’s as much as the next person, but to have an alternative that sells beautifully unique, high quality yarn is so, so nice. I’m making an infinity scarf for a friend and she found this gorgeous multi-colored wool that you just can’t find anywhere in Waco. If you happen to be thinking, “That’s great but I have no use for yarn in my life, but it would be cool to learn how to knit or crochet,” well aren’t you in luck! Yarnivore is also offering classes! If you swing by their booth, they have a nifty sign up sheet to receive regular e-mail announcements about classes and sales. Next stop….Amelia’s Fashion Exchange!

Amelia’s is a great little consignment shop located in Central Texas Marketplace. I stopped by to drop off some clothing to be consigned, and of course got side tracked by all the wonderfully priced clothing, shoes, and accessories. I’m 23 weeks pregnant so I didn’t pay much attention to the clothes, but they had some adorable shoes and jewelry I drooled over for a bit. Their scarf collection was overly exceptional today as well, but I refrained….for a little bit. I left with a pair of knit Fossil slippers. Precious, but shhhhh, don’t tell my husband. : )

Overall it was a breath of fresh air to get out of the house and meander about Waco….even if I had to endure the misty mess. Oh, and I hope this will be a fairly regular post. I can’t go shopping every Saturday (I wish) but if I have to sacrifice for the reader’s sake, well by golly, that’s what I’ll have to do. Stay warm! ~KP

Entry filed under: Shopping.

Welcome to What About Waco! Snow in the H.O.T. {Heart of Texas}

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel Craig  |  January 17, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    I love Spice!!! I didn’t know about Yarnivore. THanks for the info, I’ll be checking it out!

    Reply
  • 2. yarnivore  |  January 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    THANK YOU for giving us a shout out. We are thankful for the support and are looking forward to great classes and new frun yarn this spring!

    we are always open to suggestions and feedback to make the store better!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other subscribers