Sacred, Simple, Dayspring.

May 11, 2011 at 7:29 pm 1 comment

You can drive almost anywhere in Waco and find a place of worship. And they range from traditional, to meeting under bridges, big, small, and anything in between. My family and I have attended Dayspring Baptist Church since we moved to Waco, and being part of this congregation has been incredibly challenging to our faith journey. I grew up in Baptist churches, but my husband grew up Catholic, and somehow Dayspring manages to meld the traditions and practices of each denomination in a beautiful way. I’ve learned so much since joining Dayspring. I’d never followed the church calendar before, and always assumed Advent and Lent were something Catholics practiced. New meaning has been attached to so many traditions I grew up with that were either never explained to me, or I just took for granted (communion, holidays, baptism, etc.). All in all, it’s been a wonderful church experience for the Pereiras.

In addition to being such a meaningful place to my family, it is a beautiful place-literally. The campus is set on some hills with a creek and trees at the back. The back wall of the sanctuary and the outside aisles are lined with large windows so you can see the grounds during worship. It is an ongoing joke that expecting moms who walk the hills of Dayspring will go in to labor, and I can’t say it’s a total myth. I walked them with my first and went in to labor that night. As most of you know I am expecting my second any day now and I took a trip to Dayspring today and walked for about 45 minutes. I guess we’ll see if it worked this time : ) I guess that’s what got me thinking about our church, and I suppose I could use this time to invite you to Dayspring if you would like to check it out for yourself. It’s a lovely, restful place where my family and I have experienced the love of Christ, and we would love for others to experience it as well. www.ourdayspring.org

Entry filed under: Faith, Family, Non-Profits.

Let’s Go Fly a Kite… It’s Just Different

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Auntie, one of 'em  |  May 12, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Just went back and read all of your entries. Loved ’em. It’s great to keep up with the things you and yours are doing. Love you sweetie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers


